We earn nothing from this page. We hold no affiliate relationship with any resort mentioned here, and no links on this site are tracked or commercial. How we make money

Barcelo Maya Beach
One of four hotels in the Barcelo Maya Grand Resort complex, 48 miles south of Cancun airport. Eight pools split between children, swimming and adults, a 32,000 square foot spa, and a published 18 minimum for the spa area.
At a glance
| Audience | family verified 2026-09-13 |
|---|---|
| Minimum age | Not published by the operator |
| Rooms | Not published by the operator |
| Location | Carretera Federal Chetumal-Puerto Juarez Km 266.3, 77750, Riviera Maya, Mexico verified 2026-09-13 |
| Transfer from Cancun airport | Not published by the operator |
| Check-in | 15:00 verified 2026-09-13 |
| Check-out | 12:00 verified 2026-09-13 |
| Pools | 8 pools verified 2026-09-13 |
| Adults-only pool | Not published by the operator |
| Restaurants | Not published by the operator |
| Kids club | Not published by the operator |
| Complex access | Not published by the operator |
You are booking a complex, not a hotel
Barcelo Maya Beach is one of four hotels in the Barcelo Maya Grand Resort: Caribe, Colonial and Tropical are the others.
That shapes the whole stay. The scale of the site, the walk to dinner and the number of people you share a pool with are all properties of the complex rather than of the building your key opens.
Eight pools, described by who they are for
Most operators publish a pool count and stop. This one splits them: wading pools for children, semi-Olympic pools, and pools for adults.
That is a more useful sentence than a bigger number would be, because it tells you whether your morning swim and your children’s afternoon are the same body of water.
The transfer is the longest we document on this coast
Forty-eight miles from Cancun International. Every other Riviera Maya property we hold sits closer, and several sit under half that.
The operator’s own page states 48 miles in one place and 49 in another. We have recorded the lower figure and flagged the discrepancy rather than picking whichever reads better.
The spa has an age and the resort does not
The spa and wellness area publishes a minimum age of 18.
That is notable because it is the only age this property publishes at all — and because across thirty-four resorts, a published minimum age of any kind is rare enough to be worth naming when it appears.
The U-Spa itself is given as 32,000 square feet, with a separate U-Kids Spa. Both carry an additional charge, as do medical services.
What is not published
No room count, on a four-hotel complex where scale is the main thing a reader wants to judge. No bar count. No total restaurant count — three are named, which is not the same thing. And no age range for the Barcy Kids Club.
Who this is wrong for
Anyone travelling for a few nights, who will spend a substantial part of it driving. And anyone wanting a compact property: this is the opposite of that by design.
What the rate includes
Not published by the operator.
What it does not include
- U-Kids Spa
- U-Spa treatments
- Medical services
Verified 2026-09-13
Mandatory costs
The operator does not publish a mandatory fee schedule on its official pages. That is not the same as there being no fee. It means we read the official source and found no figure, so we are not going to state one. Confirm any property charges at the point of booking.
Costs that apply wherever you stay in Quintana Roo
- VISITAX (Quintana Roo state visitor contribution): NOT VERIFIED – the official portal read on 2026-09-12 confirms the obligation but does not state the amount on that page — Government of the State of Quintana Roo – VISITAX, read 2026-09-12
- Ecotax / Environmental Sanitation Law charge: MXN 35.19 to 87.98 per night depending on occupancy, as published by Barcelo Hotel Group for Occidental at Xcaret Destination — Barcelo Hotel Group / Occidental at Xcaret Destination, read 2026-09-12
Strengths, and what supports them
- Eight pools, published as a count and described by who each is for
Because: pools.pool_count, pools.description - Publishes a minimum age for the spa area, which almost nothing in our coverage does
Because: identity.minimum_age_spa - Names what costs extra rather than leaving the edges of the rate unstated
Because: inclusions.exclusions_notable
Limitations, and what supports them
- The page gives two different distances from the airport, 48 and 49 miles
Because: location.airport_distance needs_reverification - No room count, so the scale of a four-hotel complex cannot be judged
Because: unknowns.rooms.room_count - Names three restaurants without publishing a total
Because: unknowns.dining.restaurant_count
Who it suits
- young family
- multigen
- long stay
- lively
Who it is not for
- Travellers on a short stay
Because: location.airport_distance – 48 miles is the longest transfer of any Riviera Maya property we document - Adults wanting a child-free resort
Because: identity.audience_class = family - Parents who need confirmed kids club ages
Because: unknowns.children.kids_club_age_bands – Barcy Kids Club is named, its ages are not published - Anyone who wants a firm mandatory-fee total in advance
Because: fee_position=not_published_by_operator
What the operator does not publish
We checked the official source for each of these and it was not stated. We have not filled them in from anywhere else:
- room count
- restaurant count
- bar count
- kids club age bands
- water park
- mandatory fees
- beach type
- step free access notes
Prices
We do not publish prices for this resort yet. We only publish a price when we can state the amount, what it covers, the basis it is quoted on, and when we observed it.
We have no affiliate relationship for Barcelo Maya Beach yet, so this is not a tracked link and we earn nothing from it. When that changes, this page will say so and the disclosure will appear above it.
Sources
- Barcelo Hotel Group — read 2026-09-13
Last verified 2026-09-13. We re-check resort facts at least every six months.
Last verified 2026-09-13.