We earn nothing from this page. We hold no affiliate relationship with any resort mentioned here, and no links on this site are tracked or commercial. How we make money

Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
A 413-room family resort inside the four-hotel Grand Palladium Riviera Maya complex, with shared access to the neighbouring Kantenah property’s restaurants, bars and pools. Its standout published fact is the breadth of its children’s programme, which the operator states spans ages 1 to 19 – a range that covers the toddler and teenage gaps most resorts leave open.
At a glance
| Audience | family verified 2026-09-12 |
|---|---|
| Minimum age | Not published by the operator |
| Rooms | 413 rooms verified 2026-09-12 |
| Location | Riviera Maya, Quintana Roo, Mexico verified 2026-09-12 |
| Transfer from Cancun airport | 90 minutes from Cancun International Airport verified 2026-09-12 |
| Check-in | 15:00 verified 2026-09-12 |
| Check-out | 12:00 verified 2026-09-12 |
| Pools | Not published by the operator |
| Adults-only pool | Not published by the operator |
| Restaurants | 2 show cooking restaurants, 4 a la carte restaurants and 9 bars. Eight restaurants named: La Hacienda, Tikal, El Gran Azul, El Dorado, La Adelita, Sumptuori, La Lola, Ribs & More verified 2026-09-12 |
| Kids club | Baby Club, Mini Club and Junior Club; programme covers children aged 1 to 19 verified 2026-09-12 |
| Complex access | Access to Grand Palladium Kantenah Resort & Spa restaurants, bars and swimming pools verified 2026-09-12 |
The children’s programme is the reason to look here
Most all-inclusive resorts publish a kids club with a narrow age band, typically somewhere between four and twelve. That band has two well-known holes: toddlers who are too young for it, and teenagers who are far too old and spend the week bored.
This operator publishes three clubs covering ages one to nineteen. Whether every band is equally well staffed is not something we can verify from a website, and we will not pretend to know. But the published commitment is materially wider than the norm on this coast, and for a multi-generational trip, or a family with a four-year-old and a fifteen-year-old, that is the single most relevant published fact on the page.
The imported spirits clause
The rate includes all meals and beverages, soft or alcoholic, with imported brands excluded.
That clause is common in this market and routinely ignored until arrival. In practice it means the house pour is included and specific branded spirits are not. If you drink a particular whiskey or gin, this matters; if you drink beer, wine and cocktails made with whatever is behind the bar, it does not. Either way, it is published, so decide in advance rather than at the bar.
Complex access, and what it is worth
Guests here can use the restaurants, bars and pools of the neighboring Kantenah property. As with every complex arrangement on this coast, that is valuable on a long stay and largely theoretical on a short one.
A published inconsistency
The operator states a dining structure of two show-cooking restaurants plus four à la carte, and then names eight restaurants elsewhere on the same page. Those figures do not reconcile.
We have recorded both and flagged the field rather than picking whichever number sounds better. If the number of dinner options is decisive for you, ask the operator to confirm which venues are open in your travel month; seasonal closures are a plausible explanation for exactly this kind of discrepancy.
The transfer
Roughly ninety minutes from Cancun airport, by the operator’s own statement. On a one-week stay that is acceptable. On a four-night stay it is a meaningful fraction of the trip, and a resort closer to the airport will give you more usable time for the same money.
What the rate includes
- All meals and beverages, soft or alcoholic, are included
Verified 2026-09-12
What it does not include
Not published by the operator.
Mandatory costs
The operator does not publish a mandatory fee schedule on its official pages. That is not the same as there being no fee. It means we read the official source and found no figure, so we are not going to state one. Confirm any property charges at the point of booking.
Costs that apply wherever you stay in Quintana Roo
- VISITAX (Quintana Roo state visitor contribution): NOT VERIFIED – the official portal read on 2026-09-12 confirms the obligation but does not state the amount on that page — Government of the State of Quintana Roo – VISITAX, read 2026-09-12
- Ecotax / Environmental Sanitation Law charge: MXN 35.19 to 87.98 per night depending on occupancy, as published by Barcelo Hotel Group for Occidental at Xcaret Destination — Barcelo Hotel Group / Occidental at Xcaret Destination, read 2026-09-12
Strengths, and what supports them
- Children’s programme spans ages 1 to 19 across three clubs, covering babies and teenagers
Because: children.kids_club_age_bands - Publishes a real total room count, transfer time and check-in times
Because: rooms.room_count, location.airport_transfer_minutes, booking.check_in_time - Complex access extends usable facilities to a second full resort
Because: complex.sister_hotel_access
Limitations, and what supports them
- Imported spirits sit outside the rate, which matters if you drink specific brands
Because: inclusions.alcohol_policy - The published dining figures do not reconcile – a stated 2+4 structure against 8 named venues
Because: dining.restaurant_structure reverification_note - Roughly 90 minutes from the airport, each way
Because: location.airport_transfer_minutes
Who it suits
- young family
- teens
- multigen
- value seeker
- long stay
Who it is not for
- Adults seeking a child-free resort
Because: identity.audience_class = family; the property is marketed in a 5-star Family category - Guests who drink imported spirits and expect them included
Because: inclusions.alcohol_policy – imported brands are explicitly excluded - Travellers prioritising a short airport transfer
Because: location.airport_transfer_minutes = approximately 90 minutes from CUN - Anyone who needs a confirmed pool count or mandatory fee total in advance
Because: unknowns.pools.pool_count, unknowns.fees.mandatory_fees
What the operator does not publish
We checked the official source for each of these and it was not stated. We have not filled them in from anywhere else:
- pool count
- mandatory fees
- child pricing policy
- beach type
- step free access notes
- connecting rooms available
Prices
We do not publish prices for this resort yet. We only publish a price when we can state the amount, what it covers, the basis it is quoted on, and when we observed it.
We have no affiliate relationship for Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa yet, so this is not a tracked link and we earn nothing from it. When that changes, this page will say so and the disclosure will appear above it.
Sources
- Palladium Hotel Group — read 2026-09-12
Last verified 2026-09-12. We re-check resort facts at least every six months.
Last verified 2026-09-12.