We earn nothing from this page. We hold no affiliate relationship with any resort mentioned here, and no links on this site are tracked or commercial. How we make money

Barcelo Maya Caribe
One of four hotels in the Barcelo Maya Grand Resort, with eight pools, two named water parks and published swim-up room categories. Forty-eight miles from Cancun airport, and 52.5 from the new Tulum airport.
At a glance
| Audience | family verified 2026-09-13 |
|---|---|
| Minimum age | Not published by the operator |
| Rooms | Not published by the operator |
| Location | Carretera Chetumal-Puerto Juarez km 266.3, 77750, Riviera Maya, Mexico verified 2026-09-13 |
| Transfer from Cancun airport | Not published by the operator |
| Check-in | 15:00 verified 2026-09-13 |
| Check-out | 12:00 verified 2026-09-13 |
| Pools | 8 pools verified 2026-09-13 |
| Adults-only pool | Not published by the operator |
| Restaurants | Not published by the operator |
| Kids club | Not published by the operator |
| Complex access | Access to facilities across all four resort hotels is included verified 2026-09-13 |
Two water parks, and one of them costs extra
Barcy Water Park with slides and waterfalls, and Pirates Island, which the operator states carries an additional charge.
That second sentence is the useful one. Water parks are marketed as part of the all-inclusive and are not always inside it; this page says which is which, and most do not.
Swim-up suites, published by name
Premium Level Swim-Up Junior Suite and Premium Level Swim-Up Suite, alongside Superior rooms and two Oceanfront Premium Level grades.
Along with Grand Palladium Kantenah, this is one of only two Riviera Maya properties we can document with published swim-up or private-pool room categories.
Eight pools, described by who they are for
Semi-Olympic pools, adult pools, and wading pools for children. As at its sister hotel, the operator splits them by purpose rather than just counting them.
Two airports now
48 miles from Cancun International, and 52.5 miles from Tulum International.
This is the first property in our coverage to publish a distance from the new Tulum airport. For anyone able to fly into Tulum the two figures are close enough that the choice is about flights, not driving.
Either way it is the longest Riviera Maya transfer we document.
The complex, and what belongs to it
Barcelo Maya Caribe is one of four hotels in the Barcelo Maya Grand Resort, with Beach, Colonial and Tropical. Access to all four hotels’ facilities is included.
The page’s “8 specialty restaurants” is the complex’s figure, not this hotel’s — this hotel has three. We have recorded it as a complex total and left the property’s own restaurant count unknown.
A small kindness worth noting
Guests may use the facilities until 3 PM on departure day, which is published. On a late flight that is most of an extra day.
What is not published
No room count. No bar count. No Barcy Club age range. The spa publishes 18; the hotel does not publish a minimum age.
What the rate includes
Not published by the operator.
What it does not include
- U-Spa
- Pirates Island water park
- Flowriding lessons
Verified 2026-09-13
Mandatory costs
The operator does not publish a mandatory fee schedule on its official pages. That is not the same as there being no fee. It means we read the official source and found no figure, so we are not going to state one. Confirm any property charges at the point of booking.
Costs that apply wherever you stay in Quintana Roo
- VISITAX (Quintana Roo state visitor contribution): NOT VERIFIED – the official portal read on 2026-09-12 confirms the obligation but does not state the amount on that page — Government of the State of Quintana Roo – VISITAX, read 2026-09-12
- Ecotax / Environmental Sanitation Law charge: MXN 35.19 to 87.98 per night depending on occupancy, as published by Barcelo Hotel Group for Occidental at Xcaret Destination — Barcelo Hotel Group / Occidental at Xcaret Destination, read 2026-09-12
Strengths, and what supports them
- Publishes swim-up junior suite and swim-up suite categories by name
Because: rooms.categories - Two water parks named, with the charged one identified as charged
Because: family.water_park, inclusions.exclusions_notable - Eight pools described by who each is for
Because: pools.pool_count - Publishes a distance from the new Tulum airport as well as from Cancun
Because: location.second_airport - Facilities remain usable until 3pm on departure day
Because: booking.check_out_time
Limitations, and what supports them
- No room count, on a hotel inside a four-hotel complex where scale is the main question
Because: unknowns.rooms.room_count - Its restaurant figure is the complex’s eight specialty venues, not this hotel’s own count
Because: complex.restaurants_total needs_reverification - Names a kids club with no published age range
Because: unknowns.children.kids_club_age_bands
Who it suits
- young family
- teens
- multigen
- long stay
Who it is not for
- Travellers on a short stay
Because: location.airport_distance – 48 miles from Cancun, the longest Riviera Maya transfer we document - Adults wanting a child-free resort
Because: identity.audience_class = family, with two water parks - Anyone assuming both water parks are included
Because: inclusions.exclusions_notable – Pirates Island carries an additional charge - Anyone who wants a firm mandatory-fee total in advance
Because: fee_position=not_published_by_operator
What the operator does not publish
We checked the official source for each of these and it was not stated. We have not filled them in from anywhere else:
- room count
- bar count
- restaurant count
- kids club age bands
- beach type
- mandatory fees
Prices
We do not publish prices for this resort yet. We only publish a price when we can state the amount, what it covers, the basis it is quoted on, and when we observed it.
We have no affiliate relationship for Barcelo Maya Caribe yet, so this is not a tracked link and we earn nothing from it. When that changes, this page will say so and the disclosure will appear above it.
Sources
- Barcelo Hotel Group — read 2026-09-13
Last verified 2026-09-13. We re-check resort facts at least every six months.
Last verified 2026-09-13.